2018 Holy Days of Obligation and Solemnities

The liturgical calendar changes and adjusts each year as feast days fall on different days and liturgical seasons begin at slightly different times. To help you keep track of everything coming up in the 2018 calendar year, we’ve compiled a list of some of the Holy Days of Obligation for the year, as well as some other notable feast days, solemnities, and special celebrations within the Church’s calendar. This list is not exhaustive—you can visit the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) website for the full liturgical calendar. Holy Days of Obligation are marked below, but remember, Sundays are always obligatory!

Is it one of your goals to grow in holiness this year? Branch out from the obligatory Sunday Mass and Holy Days of Obligation, and discover the richness and beauty contained the Church’s liturgical calendar. These holy days and solemnities are a great place to start! To ensure that you don’t forget these celebrations, put the dates on your calendar now and you’ll be prepared for the whole year!

— 2018 Holy Days of Obligation are indicated in Red. Sundays (Epiphany, Palm Sunday, Easter Sunday, etc.)  are always obligatory. —

 

Monday, January 1, 2018 – Solemnity of Mary, The Holy Mother of God
“Since the Solemnity of Mary, the Holy Mother of God on January 1, 2018 falls on a Monday this year, it is not observed as a Holyday of Obligation,” says the USCCB.

Sunday, January 7, 2018 – Solemnity of the Epiphany of the Lord

Monday, January 8, 2018 – The Baptism of the Lord
“In 2018, since the Solemnity of the Epiphany of the Lord is celebrated on January 7, the Feast of the Baptism of the Lord is transferred to the following Monday, January 8, with only one reading before the Gospel,” explains the USCCB.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 – Ash Wednesday
It is a common misconception that Ash Wednesday is a Holy Day of Obligation. However, it’s a great way to start the Lenten season!

 Monday, March 19, 2018 – Solemnity of Saint Joseph, Spouse of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Sunday, March 25, 2018 – Palm Sunday of the Passion of the Lord

Thursday, March 29, 2018 – Holy Thursday

Friday, March 30, 2018 – Good Friday

Saturday, March 31, 2018 – Holy Saturday

Sunday, April 1, 2018 – Easter Sunday of the Resurrection of the Lord

Monday, April 9, 2018 – Solemnity of the Annunciation of the Lord
According to the USCCB, “Since March 25, 2018 is Palm Sunday of the Passion of the Lord, the Solemnity of the Annunciation of the Lord, normally assigned to this date, is transferred to Monday, April 9, 2018.”

Thursday, May 10, 2018 – Ascension of Jesus (Holy Day of Obligation in some dioceses)
“In several ecclesiastical provinces of the United States of America, the Solemnity of the Ascension of the Lord is transferred from May 10, 2018, to the following Sunday, May 13, 2018. In those archdioceses and dioceses, Thursday, May 10, 2018, is an Easter Weekday or the Optional Memorial of Saint Damien de Veuster, Priest,” says the USCCB. Check with your local parish or diocese to be sure.

 Sunday, May 20, 2018 – Pentecost Sunday

Sunday, May 27, 2018 – Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity

Sunday, June 3, 2018 – Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi)

Friday, June 8, 2018 – Solemnity of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus

Sunday, June 24, 2018 – Solemnity of the Nativity of Saint John the Baptist

Friday, June 29, 2018 – Solemnity of Saints Peter and Paul, Apostles

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 – Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Holy Day of Obligation

Thursday, November 1, 2018 – All Saints Day, Holy Day of Obligation 

Friday, November 2, 2018 – The Commemoration of All the Faithful Departed (All Souls’ Day

Sunday, November 25, 2018Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe (Christ the King)

Saturday, December 8, 2018 – Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Holy Day of Obligation

Tuesday, December 25, 2018 – The Nativity of Our Lord (Christmas), Holy Day of Obligation