Reflecting on Our Lady’s sorrows

At the Cross her station keeping, stood the mournful Mother weeping, close to Jesus to the last, begins the Stabat Mater Dolorosa, a beautiful hymn based on the suffering of Mary at the Cross. This hymn is an excellent way to reflect and pray today as we honor the feast day of Our Lady of Sorrows and remember the seven sorrows of our Blessed Mother. It is a day in which we walk with Mary and reflect on her anguish as she watched her Son die.

The Seven Sorrows of Mary are her greatest sorrows in relation to her only Son, sorrows that pierced her heart and which she carried with her throughout her Son’s earthly life. The Seven Sorrows of Mary have become a popular devotion to those who strive to unite their sufferings to Christ and His beloved mother.

The Seven Sorrows:

  1. The prophecy of Simeon.
  2. The flight into Egypt.
  3. Losing Child Jesus in the Temple of Jerusalem.
  4. Meeting Jesus on the walk to Calvary.
  5. The Crucifixion of Jesus.
  6. Taking down of the body of Jesus from the cross.
  7. The burial of Jesus.

As we strive to love Our Lord, Jesus Christ, the way that His mother loved Him, we unite our sufferings to Mary. Every day, through her love and her deep suffering, she leads us to her Son.

Our Lady of Sorrows, pray for us!

Lindsey is a wife, mother, and contributing author at Relevant Radio. She holds a degree in Journalism and Advertising from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Lindsey enjoys writing, baking, and liturgical living with her young family.