2023 Holy Days of Obligation and Solemnities

While some feast days and holidays don’t change their dates year to year, the Liturgical Calendar of the Catholic Church often rotates depending on the dates of other events. So, to help you keep track of the changes coming next year, we’ve compiled this list of Holy Days of Obligation, Liturgical Seasons, solemnities, and special feast days in 2023. Bookmark this page and send it to friends and family!

Note: All Sundays are Holy Days of Obligation, even if they are not included in this list.

2023 Holy Days of Obligation:

  • Thursday, May 18, 2023 – The Ascension of Jesus
  • Tuesday, August 15, 2023 – The Assumption of Mary, Solemnity
  • Wednesday, November 1, 2023 – All Saints’ Day
  • Friday, December 8, 2023 – The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary
  • Monday, December 25, 2023 – The Birth of Our Lord, Christmas

Solemnities and Other Special Celebrations:

  • Sunday, January 1, 2023 – The Solemnity of Mary, the Mother of God
  • Friday, January 6, 2023 – The Epiphany of the Lord, Solemnity
  • Sunday, January 8, 2023 – The Baptism of the Lord
  • Wednesday, February 22, 2023 – Ash Wednesday
  • Sunday, March 19, 2023 – Solemnity of St. Joseph, Spouse of the Blessed Virgin Mary
  • Saturday, March 25, 2023 – The Annunciation of the Lord, Solemnity
  • Sunday, April 2, 2023 – Palm Sunday
  • Thursday, April 6, 2023 – Holy Thursday
  • Friday, April 7, 2023 – Good Friday
  • Saturday, April 8, 2023 – Holy Saturday
  • Sunday, April 9, 2023 – Easter Sunday, the Resurrection of the Lord, Solemnity
  • Sunday, April 16, 2023 – Divine Mercy Sunday
  • Sunday, May 28, 2023 – Pentecost Sunday, Solemnity
  • Sunday, June 4, 2023 – The Most Holy Trinity, Solemnity
  • Thursday, June 8, 2023 – Corpus Christi, Solemnity
  • Friday, June 16, 2023 – The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, Solemnity
  • Saturday, June 24, 2023 – The Nativity of St. John the Baptist, Solemnity
  • Friday, June 29, 2023 – Saints Peter and Paul, Solemnity
  • Thursday, November 2, 2023 – All Souls’ Day
  • Sunday, November 26, 2023 – Solemnity of Christ the King

2023 Liturgical Seasons:

  • November 27, 2022 – January 8, 2023: Advent, Christmas
  • January 9, 2023 – February 21, 2023: Ordinary Time
  • February 22, 2023 – May 28, 2023: Lent, Triduum, Easter
  • May 29, 2023 – December 2, 2023: Ordinary Time
  • December 3, 2023 – January 6, 2024: Advent, Christmas

Click here to see the 2022 Holy Days of Obligation and Solemnities

John Hanretty serves as a Digital Media Producer for Relevant Radio®. He is a graduate of the Gupta College of Business at the University of Dallas. Besides being passionate about writing, his hobbies include drawing and digital design. You can read more of his daily articles at relevantradio.com and on the Relevant Radio® app.